Friday, May 10, 2024

Ads by Google

Ads by Google

HomeNews2 Tipra Motha leaders now ministers for BJP-led Tripura govt

2 Tipra Motha leaders now ministers for BJP-led Tripura govt

NEW DELHI: Tripura‘s main



Tipra Motha

‘s senior leader,

Animesh Debbarma

, and MLA Brishaketu Debbarma took oath as


in the BJP-led government at Durbar Hall of the Raj Bhavan in Tripura, on Thursday.
This comes days after TIPRA Motha signed a tripartite agreement in New Delhi with the Centre and the Tripura govt for amicably resolving all issues of the indigenous people of Tripura.

Chief Minister Manik Saha, his cabinet colleagues, Tipra Motha supremo

Pradyot Debbarma

, and several leaders from the ruling parties were present during the ceremony, where Governor Indrasena Reddy Nallu administered the oath of office and secrecy to the incumbent leaders.
Earlier in the day, Animesh Debbarma resigned as the leader of the opposition in the assembly and submitted his resignation to Speaker Biswabandhu Sen.

“The T

ipra Motha has 13 MLAs in the 60-member assembly. Today, Tipra Motha became a part of the government as an ally of the BJP and was allotted two ministerial berths,” Debbarma said.
The state now has a total of 11 ministers, including Chief Minister Manik Saha. According to the rules, the state can have 12 ministers, including the CM.
The tripartite agreement aims to address the issues faced by the indigenous people of Tripura, such as history, land and political rights, economic development, identity, culture, and language. Union Home Minister

Amit Shah

was also present during the signing of the agreement.
(With input from agencies)