Friday, July 12, 2024

Ads by Google

Ads by Google

HomeNewsElection Commissioner Arun Goel resigns ahead of Lok Sabha polls

Election Commissioner Arun Goel resigns ahead of Lok Sabha polls


Election Commissioner

Arun Goel has resigned just weeks before the

Lok Sabha

elections are expected to be held, and President Droupadi Murmu has accepted his resignation.


“In pursuance of clause (1) of Section 11 of The Chief Election Commissioner and other Election Commissioners (Appointment, Conditions of Service and Term of Office) Act, 2023, the President is pleased to accept the resignation tendered by Shri Arun Goel, Election Commissioner with effect from the 09th March, 2024,” the gazette notification issued on Saturday read.

Only CEC left in panel

The three-member Election Commission of India already had a vacancy and will now be left only with Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar. Election Commissioner Anup Pandey had retired in February.

Apart from the crucial Lok Sabha elections, the Commission will conduct the state elections in Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, Sikkim, Maharashtra and Arunachal Pradesh.
The dates of the elections are not yet announced though teams have been visiting states to check the preparedness for the election likely to be held in April-May.

No reason given
Goel is a retired 1985-batch Indian Administrative Service officer belonging to the Punjab cadre.
On November 19, 2022, he was appointed as Election Commissioner of India and assumed charge on November 21, 2022. He has also worked as Secretary, Ministry of Culture; Vice-Chairman, Delhi Development Authority; Additional Secretary and Financial Advisor, Ministry of Labour and Employment; Joint Secretary, Department of Revenue, Ministry of Finance.
The reason for Arun Goel’s resignation is not yet known. His tenure was to end in 2027.
‘Very, very concerning’
Reacting to the development, Trinamool MP Saket Gokhale said this is “very very concerning”.

“Modi Govt has introduced a new law where Election Commissioners will now be appointed with a majority vote of PM Modi & 1 Minister chosen by him. Ergo, before the 2024

Lok Sabha polls

, Modi will now appoint 2 out of the 3 Election Commissioners after today’s resignation. This is VERY VERY concerning,” Saket said on X.
(This is a developing story)