Thursday, May 23, 2024

Ads by Google

Ads by Google

CUET UG May 24 exam postponed for candidates allotted test centres outside Silchar

NEW DELHI: The National Testing Agency (NTA) has announced a rescheduling of the Common University Entrance Test Undergraduate (CUET UG 2024) exam scheduled for...
HomeNewsSukbhbir Sandhu, Gyanesh Kumar appointed new election commissioners

Sukbhbir Sandhu, Gyanesh Kumar appointed new election commissioners

NEW DELHI: Bureaucrats

Sukhbir Sandhu


Gyanesh Kumar

have been appointed

election commissioners

by Prime Minister Narendra Modi-led panel, Congress leader

Adhir Ranjan

Chowdhury said on Thursday.
After the meeting of selection committee to pick the Election Commissioner, Chowdhury told reporters, “In this committee, govt has the majority. One Mr Kumar from Kerala and one Mr B.

Sandhu from Punjab have been selected as Election Commissioners.”

The new law on the appointment of CEC and ECs came into force recently. Before this, the Chief Justice of India was also involved in the process.

After the resignation of Arun Goel, only Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar was left in the 3-member poll panel, with the Lok Sabha polls just weeks away. Election Commissioner Anup Chandra Pandey had retired on February 14 on attaining the age of 65 years.